#InsideAT - Our new working student Marlon Gehlenborg

by | 14 April 2021 | #InsideAT

In our #InsideAT series, we regularly introduce new employees. Today it's Marlon Gehlenborg's turn. He is starting with us as a working student - in this interview he tells us what drove him to join us, what his background is and how he prefers to spend his life outside of work.

What position will you take on at AT?

I have the opportunity to write my master's thesis at AT and am therefore working on the project as a data science student trainee at the same time.

How did you become aware of AT?

I knew that I wanted to write my Master's thesis in the field of data science and therefore quickly became aware of AT via the internet. In addition, my professor knows the company and drew my attention to AT alongside my own research.

Why did you choose AT?

At AT, the core competence is based on creating value from data, whereas at many other companies this is only a small area. I find both this expertise and the opportunity to work with companies from many different industries very interesting. In addition, I was welcomed very warmly from the first contact with AT and felt immediately at ease, which is why my choice was quickly made.

What are you looking forward to the most?

I am most looking forward to working with the team and meeting friendly new people. Even though a lot of things are not possible at Corona at the moment, I hope to be able to participate in some cool events and enjoy the magnificent view from the office from time to time.

What did you do before?

I previously studied socio-informatics at the TU Kaiserslautern and have now moved to Munich for my Master's thesis. I also lived in Berlin for six months between my Bachelor's and Master's degrees and worked there for a member of the German Bundestag in the field of artificial intelligence.

Where were you born and raised?

I was born and raised in Oldenburg (Lower Saxony).

What do you do in your spare time?

When the weather is good, I like to spend my free time outside in the park or in the mountains and meet friends for a cosy beer or a round of Frisbee or card games. I enjoy mountain biking, although unfortunately I've rarely had the chance to do so lately. Otherwise, I'm always up for a relaxed game night.

What has been your favourite travel destination so far and where would you definitely like to go?

I love to travel to the Mediterranean, especially Croatia, because the clear water there is beautiful and ideal for snorkelling / diving. I would love to travel to Iceland and the Azores Islands to see the impressive nature there.

What was your dream job as a child?

I wanted to be an archaeologist and dig up dinosaur bones in the desert.

What is your favourite film / series?

My favourite film is definitely Lord of the Rings and my favourite series is probably Supernatural, although there are many other good series.

How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

I have a passion for bad word jokes and I'm a very laid-back guy who's hard to rattle.

0 Comments